The Leaving Of Liverpool

The Leaving Of Liverpool

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

Bestselling author Lyn Andrews's nostalgic saga THE LEAVING OF LIVERPOOL is perfect reading for fans of Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.

It is 1919 and Liverpool has been devastated by World War I. Sons, husbands and fathers have been lost and street after street plunged into mourning. Now, at last, the war is finally over. Emily Parkinson goes back into service and enjoys the return to normality. But Emily's younger sister, Phoebe-Anne, has ideas beyond her station. Working as a lady's maid, Phoebe-Ann hopes that one day she will be more than just a confidante to her mistress's shell-shocked brother James Mercer.

When Emily is brutally attacked, the sisters' lives come close to ruin. Phoebe-Ann is forced to leave the Mercer household and falls into the arms of Jake Malone, of the notorious Malone clan. But as Emily slowly recovers it seems that Phoebe-Anne might just be able to escape the mistakes of her past after all - even if it does mean leaving Liverpool...

Publisher: London : Headline, 2008.
ISBN: 9780755341825
0755341821
Characteristics: 404 p. ; 18 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
scorpio21
Oct 07, 2011

Half way through I remembered I had read this before.My problem was I couldn't remember the ending. I had to find out if there was a happy ending to this sad tale.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top