American Poets, 1880-1945, First Series

American Poets, 1880-1945, First Series

Book - 1986
Rate this:
'The history of American writing (and especially poetry) in the twentieth century can be read as the history of a language gradually acquiring native speakers, when there were none before,' states this DLB volume's foreword. This second-of-three series profiles 47 American poets who helped to define the cultural language of the nation as it struggled to secure an active role in world affairs.47 entries include: Kay Boyle, Sterling Brown, Stanley Burnshaw, e.e. Cummings, Edward Dahlberg, Langston Hughes, Stanley Kunitz, James Laughlin, Thomas Merton, Frederic Prokosch, Evelyn Scott, Jesse Stuart and Robert Penn Warren.
Publisher: Detroit, Mich. Gale Research 1986
ISBN: 9780810317239
Additional Contributors: Quartermain, Peter


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at WPL

To Top