Department 19

Department 19

The Rising

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
6
1
1
Rate this:
"Sixteen-year-old Jamie Carpenter's life was violently upended when he was brought into Department 19, a classified government agency of vampire hunters that was formed to deal with a little problem... known as Dracula. But being the new recruit at the Department isn't all weapons training and covert missions. Jamie's own mother has been turned into a vampire--and now Jamie will stop at nothing to wreak revenge on her captors. Even if that means facing down Dracula himself." --From the publisher.
Publisher: London : HarperCollins Children's, c2012.
ISBN: 9780007354481
0007354487
Characteristics: 704 p. ; 23 cm.
Alternative Title: The rising

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

qwert123 Jan 29, 2015

I thought it was going to be lame like most vampire books but this one was great!

TitaniumFang Apr 14, 2014

Great book! Loved the action and suspense

o
Opium_Bloom
May 13, 2013

awesome!!!!!!!

g
Green_Crocodile_67
May 02, 2013

Just as good as the first. I personally loved it, and they didnt leave out a single gory detail!!! 5/5

a
archonhunter666
Aug 08, 2012

why does every body think this is the first book!? anyways, really really gory. If you like morbid stuff, you should read it.

zackids Apr 16, 2012

The 700 brilliant pages of Department 19: The Rising are dripping with blood and vampire guts. The Rising is even better than the first book, as Will amps up the violence, blood and guts, and the action. One of the reasons I loved Department 19 so much was because of the history of the organisation and their fight with vampires and Will gives us more of this in The Rising. At the end of the first book we were left wondering if Frankenstein survived and Will explains what happened to him and tells us about Frankenstein’s history, including his links with some horrendous vampires. Sometimes when you’re reading a book you wish that you knew what happened to a character before you meet them, so that you know why they act the way they do, and I love that Will shows us these details. The Rising could be half the length it is without this back-story but it’s this that makes the book so brilliant.

One thing I especially liked about The Rising is that Will shows us that not all vampires are evil. Some vampires wish nothing more than to be human again and hide away from the world as much as they can. They still need to feed so get animal blood from a butcher or find other ways that mean they don’t have to kill humans. There are vampires of all ages, including fathers and daughters, and some of them just want to carry on living the way they did before they were turned.

The Rising is real boys book. Department 19 is a secret government organisation that protects the world from the supernatural (especially vampires) and they’re equipped with some great weapons, including the T-Bone, a gun that fires a stake at vampires. There’s more blood and guts in this book than what I’ve seen in any vampire movie. Whenever a vampire is staked in the heart it explodes like a balloon leaving the Operators covered in blood and chunks of vampire. Will has written some of the best fight scenes I’ve ever read, with blood squirting everywhere and they left me feeling quite queasy.

Anyone who loved Department 19 should get their hands on The Rising and you should shove the Department 19 books into the hands of any teenage boy you know. They’re perfect for readers of Anthony Horowitz, Robert Muchamore and Darren Shan.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

a
archonhunter666
Aug 08, 2012

archonhunter666 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Notices

Add Notices

a
archonhunter666
Aug 08, 2012

Other: swearing

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top